RESPONSES TO INITIAL DRAFT PROPOSALS

District	Authority/Body/Person	Proposal	Comments
Blaby District	Braunstone Town Council	Braunstone Town Council has expressed support for the proposals	
Charnwood Borough	Mountsorrel PC	Mountsorrel Parish Council object to the fact that the Parish will be split and therefore that they will have two County Councillors. (One for the electoral division encompassing Quorn and Mountsorrel district ward and the other including Rothley and Thurcaston District Ward). The Parish Council will be meeting on 9 th June and is expected to agree detailed representations on this matter then.	The initial draft proposal does not split the district wards. The issue of Mountsorrel was raised as part of the Charnwood Periodic Electoral Review and the Boundary Committee decided that Mounstorrel should be split between the district wards of Quorn and Mountsorrel and Rothley and Thurcaston.
Charnwood Borough	Mr M J Hunt CC	This proposal involves the Loughborough Dishley and Hathern being joined with Loughborough Storer and Loughborough Ashby being combined with Loughborough Garendon. Mr. Hunt has provided details with regard to community identity in support of his proposal, as well as providing evidence that it improves electoral equality.	The proposal put forward by Mr. Hunt improves electoral equality and therefore is recommended for acceptance.

Charnwood Borough	Mr G H Perkins CC	Mr. Perkins fully supports the proposal for Shepshed as set out in the Initial Draft Proposal.	
Charnwood Borough	Mrs C E Brock CC	Mrs. Brock fully supports the proposal for Anstey as set out in the Initial Draft Proposal.	
Charnwood Borough	Hoton Parish Council	The Parish Council do not have any proposals but wish to be kept informed of the progress of the review.	
Charnwood Borough	Syston Town Council	The Town Council has criticised the short period of time allowed for consultation and wishes to retain the name of Syston in the new Electoral Divisions.	
Harborough District	Dr R K A Feltham CC	 This proposal involves the combination of the following wards. 6. Thurnby and Houghton Tilton Nevill 7. Billesdon Glen Kibworth 	The proposal put forward by Dr. Feltham does not split the district ward of Billesdon and improves electoral equality. It is therefore recommended for acceptance.
Harborough District	Edward Garnier MP	Supporting the proposal submitted by Dr. Feltham and reiterates that electoral equality will be improved.	See above
Harborough District	David Taylor District Councillor for Logan Ward	The proposal is the same as that submitted by Dr. Feltham.	See above

Harborough District	Frolesworth	The submission by Frolesworth Parish Meeting supports the Initial Draft Proposal with regard to the district wards of Broughton Astley and Dunton of which Frolesworth is a part.	
Harborough District	Parish Meeting of Bringhurst Drayton and Nevill Holt	The Parish Meeting object to the fact that Nevill Holt is being treated differently from the surrounding villages and that they should be joined with them	The Initial Draft Proposal does not split the district ward of Nevill and the Parish Meeting should therefore have no grounds for concern.
Hinckley and Bosworth Borough	Mr. D. A. Sprason CC	The transfer of part of the new District ward of Newbold Verdon with Desford and Peckleton containing 398 electors (the hamlet of Botcheston) from proposed Electoral Division 4 to proposed Electoral Division 3. Mr Sprason has argued that Botcheston has greater community identity with Merrylees and Thornton which lie in proposed Division 3.	This proposal would split the district ward. The proposal would also split the parish of Desford. It would have little effect on electoral equality. It is therefore not recommended for acceptance.
Hinckley and Bosworth Borough	Newbold Verdon Parish Council	The Parish Council wishes to retain the current electoral division. It does not wish to be included with Desford and Peckleton.	Newbold Verdon is part of the district ward of Newbold Verdon with Desford and Peckleton The Parish Council's proposal is not practicable.
Melton Borough	Waltham & Thorpe Arnold Parish Council	The Parish Council has concerns that they are going to be joined with Asfordby and wish to remain part of the Belvoir area.	A change of this nature has a minor effect on electoral equality only and it suggested therefore that Waltham on the Wolds be transferred to Seat I in response to these representations.

Melton Borough	Mr. J. B. Rhodes CC	Supports the case for Waltham on the Wolds district ward to be joined with the remainder of Belvoir.	See above
Melton Borough	Stathern Parish Council	Supports the case for Waltham on the Wolds district ward to be joined with the remainder of Belvoir.	See above
North West Leicestershire District	Mr. N J Rushton CC	 This proposal involves the combination of the following wards:- 1. Ashby Castle Ashby Holywell Ashby Ivanhoe 2. Measham Moira Oakthorpe and Donisthorpe 3. Appleby Breedon Ravenstone and Packington Valley 5. Coalville Snibston It avoids the splitting of the District Wards of Moira and Ravenstone and Packington. 	This proposal provides improved coterminosity and electoral equality and is therefore recommended for acceptance.
North West Leicestershire District	John Coxon	Urging that the district ward of Ashby Castle be included with district ward of Ashby Hollywell and Ashby Ivanhoe. With the Initial Draft Proposal the district ward of Moira is split and that this should be reversed.	See above.

North West Leicestershire District	The district have forwarded a copy of their draft report for consideration at the Council Meeting 26 June 2003 which sets out the initial draft scheme the proposal put forward by Mr. Rushton and a third option, prepared by its officers. The "third option" involves the following grouping of wards :-	The district council will not take a view until 26 th June. The "third option" splits two district wards, as does the initial draft proposal. However it would improve electoral equality.	
		1. Ashby Castle Ashby Holywell Ashby Ivanhoe	
		2. Measham Moira Oakthorpe and Donisthorpe	
		 Appleby Ibstock and Heather Hugglescote (part) 	
		 Breedon Ravenstons and Packington Valley Kegworth and Whatton (part) 	
		5. Castle Donington Kegworth & Whaton (part)	
		6. Coalville Snibston	
		7. Hugglescote (part) Bardon Greenhill	
		8. Whitwick Thringstone	

Oadby and Wigston Borough	Mr J W Royce CC	 This proposal involves the combination of the following wards:- 1. Oadby Grange and Oadby St. Peters. 2. Oadby Brocks Hill, Oadby Uplands and Oadby Woodlands. The reason is that these areas have greater community identity, for example, shared common places of worship i.e. St Peters Church 	This proposal, does not affect electoral equality substantially and is therefore recommended for acceptance.
Oadby and Wigston Borough	Edward Garnier MP	Supports the case for Oadby Grange and Oadby St Peters to form one electoral division and Oadby Uplands, Oadby Woodlands and Oadby Brocks Hill due to better community identity.	See above
	Transport 2000	Unable to comment on Initial Draft Proposal as they are not due to meet until after its meeting on 14 th June 2003	